This is the "A Starter on Zotero" page of the "Introduction to Mozilla Firefox Browser" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Homepage Library Homepage Ask A Librarian

Introduction to Mozilla Firefox Browser   Tags: applications, open-source, software, technology  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://stjohns.campusguides.com/firefox Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

A Starter on Zotero Print Page
  Search: 
 

A Starter on Zotero

Zotero is an add-on for Firefox that helps you manage and create citations and bibliographies for articles on electronic databases and websites. It may be used as an alternative to Refworks: Although you will have access to your RefWorks account even after graduation, you may not be able to share your folders with non-STJ people.  Having your data stored locally (and on Zotero's servers) means that you will always have access to your citations, and be able to share them with non-STJ colleagues.

NOTE:  Zotero was originally developed as a Firefox add-on, and it works best with Firefox, but the standalone client will support other browsers, such as Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, and Apple Safari.  Also Zotero works best with Word for PC, to integrate sources using Word for Mac, you will need to load python first on your MAC to use the Word Plug-in.

ALSO NOTE: If using Word-For-Mac 2008, you access the citation feature by clicking on the script icon

  • Zotero
    A citation manager (like Refworks) that is integrated with your browser. It has a sync feature that allows you to share citations across multiple computers.
  • Zotero Manual
    Zotero's official starting guides.
 

Feature Highlights

Control Panel

To open up the control panel, click on "Zotero" on the lower-right side of your browser, or type CTRL+ALT+Z. The panel will appear on the bottom portion of the browser, so that there you can view and manage all your citations while browsing databases and websites.

Save an individual citation

On the article page, click on the icon that appears on the right side of the web address field. In databases, the icon will look like a white file.

Save multiple citations at once

On the results list page of most databases (e.g. Ebsco, ProQuest, et cetera) and sites like Amazon.com, you can batch-save several citations at once by clicking the yellow folder icon that appears on the right side of your browser's web address field. A window will pop up that allows you to save the citations of several or all articles listed on the page.

You might have noticed that there is usually a list of References at the bottom of Wikipedia entries. You can batch-save those references as well, but keep in mind that Zotero might not recognize all of them.

Please note that if the results are spread across multiple pages, you will have to batch-save for each page.

Sync data with Zotero's server

One of the most convenient features of RefWorks is that it is entirely web-based so you don't need to be at your own computer to access all your bibliographic information -- you can access it from any computer with an Internet connection. Zotero is, for now, based on Firefox, and is probably not a good solution for those who rely heavily on public or shared computers. However, Zotero tries to overcome some of its software-dependent obstacles with a "Sync" feature. You can therefore access your citations on multiple computers if you have Firefox and the Zotero extension installed.

If you register an account an account with Zotero (it's free) you can upload your data to its servers. Click on the green circular arrow icon on the right side of the control panel to sync data.

Store copies of articles and webpages

Zotero allows you to create "snapshots" of articles -- that is, it can save pages and store them locally on your computer so that you may access them even when you are not connected to the Internet. Simply click on the paper clip icon in the top middle of the control panel and select "Attach Snapshot of Current Page."

 

Getting Stuff into Zotero -- Video overview

 

Zotero Workshops (Queens & Online)

Using Zotero to Manage/Cite Research (bibliographic manager): manager):     Learn the basics of Zotero, a free open-source reference management tool that allows you to collect, store and organize research-related bibliographic information. Zotero runs best on the Firefox browser.

Wed, 3/19     4-5pm   Online --register
Tue, 4/01     5–6pm    Lib 307 --register
Tue, 4/29     3:30–4:30pm    Lib 307 --register

If you or a colleague would benefit from attending an online appointment or workshop, please  email one of the LibGuide authors (on the "related LibGuide")  to set up a convenient day/time for you and/or your classmates, club, thesis support group, organization, etc. or request one using this link:
 Request an online workshop or online 1:1 appointment

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip