Open Access
- Chris McManus on open access to scientific research articlesChris McManus, a researcher at UCL, describes why research needs to be openly shared (on You Tube).
- Directory of Open Access Journals.Full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly open access journals. Presently, there are 4,824 journals in the directory.
- Guide to the Open Access MovementGuide to the terminology, acronyms, initiatives, standards, technologies, and players in the open access movement.
- Harvard Open Access InitiativesStuart Shieber, James O. Welch, Jr. and Virginia B. Welch Professor of Computer Science and Director of the Office for Scholarly Communication at Harvard University, discusses open access at Harvard. (on You Tube)
- Key Open Acess Concepts
- Open Access Overview -Cornell University Library
- Open Access Videos on Vimeo
- Why Open Access?A conversation with Sydney Verba, Director of Harvard University Libraries (on You Tube)
Comments (0)
Disciplinary Archives
- arXiv.orgOpen access to 592,209 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- PubMed Central (PMC)U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Scholarly Communication Resources
- ACRL Scholarly Communicaiton ToolkitSupport of advocacy efforts to transform the scholarly communication landscape.
- Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and HumanitiesConference on open access to knowledge in the sciences and humanities. 20 - 22 Oct 2003, Berlin.
- Budapest Open Access InitiativeA meeting convened in Budapest by the Open Society Institute (OSI) on December 1-2, 2001.
- Create ChangeExamines new opportunities in scholarly communication. Developed by ARL and SPARC.
- DSpaceSoftware of choice for academic, non-profit, and commercial organizations building open digital repositories.
- eScholarship University of CaliforniaProvides a suite of open access, scholarly publishing services and research tools.
- Recommended language for manuscript contractsStatement/language suggestions for scholar authors to add to their manuscript contracts. University of Kansas.
- Scholarly Communicaion IssuesFrom Texas A & M University.
- Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography (SEPB)
Publishing
- BioMed CentralAn STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model.
- Open Humanities PressInternational open access press publishing in the humanities, specializing in critical and cultural theory.
- Public Knowledge ProjectPartnership of faculty, librarians, and graduate students dedicated to exploring whether and how new technologies can be used to improve the professional and public value of scholarly research.
- Public Library of SciencePublisher of open access scienific and medical journals.
- SPARC ( Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)International alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system.
Institutional Archives and Repositories
- DASH (Digial Access to Scholarship at Harvard) - Harvard University Scholarly Repository - BetaOpen access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard.
- eCommons@CornellAccess to Cornell-related digital content.
- IDEALS Repository--University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignAccess to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
- Open Archives Initiative (OAI)Develops and promotes interoperability standards that aim to facilitate the efficient dissemination of content.
- OpenDoor- Directory of Open Access ReposioriesListing of open access repositories around the world.
- SHERPADeveloping open-access institutional repositories in universities to facilitate the rapid and efficient worldwide dissemination of research.
- SHERPA JULIETFind a summary of policies given by various research funders as part of their grant awards.
- SHERPA RoMEOFind a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
- SHERPA SEARCHSearch service for the full-text of material held in UK open access repositories.
- SPARC's Repository ResourcesInformation on establishing, accessing, or just learning about online repositories.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info St.Augustine Hall, Room B 18-A (718) 990-6712 sankowsa@stjohns.edu Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
