Suggest a Medieval Studies Link
Comments (0)
Related LibGuides
Reference Resources
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (Subscription)
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)
- Oxford Reference: Religion and Philosophy (subscription)Simultaneous searches in Several Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, including entries on biographies, terms/concepts, and a chronology of philosophical & theological history and encyclopedic entries on movements and topics.
Primary Documents: Ancient & Medieval
- Ancient Bible texts and commentaries from Church FathersCompiled from Google Books searches by Mischa Hooker at Loyola University at Chicago, Classics Department
- Codex Sinaiticus"Handwritten well over 1600 years ago, the manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament. Its heavily corrected text is of outstanding importance for the history of the Bible and the manuscript – the oldest substantial book to survive Antiquity – is of supreme importance for the history of the book."
- Migne's PATROLOGIA GRAECA"The edition of Byzantine Patristic and Ecclesiastical Greek texts compiled by J. P. Migne side by side with a Latin translation" Compilation of scans from the 1st edition. Download volumes to your computer or browse pages online.
- Migne's Patrologia LatinaIncomplete compilation of Google Books versions of MIGNE's PL texts; some searchable through GB intrface, some downloadable (compiled by Hooker)
- Early Church Fathers series"In this electronic edition of the Early Church Fathers series, the volumes have been carefully proofed and converted to ThML by CCEL staff and volunteers"
- Digital Scriptorium"image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research." Columbia Univeristy
Helpful Databases
Please note that if you find references to an Article in a Bibliography or an Abstract Database, you can use the Check for Full Text feature to find it in one of our other databases.
- Religion & Theology Databases
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)Especially for articles regarding Medieval Literature
- Project Muse

Submit
Loading...
