Suggest a Literacy Resource
Literacy Research -- US Education Research -- Websites
- IRA: Resources by Topic
- Florida Center for Reading Researchrecommended by Athena Lentini McAlenney: "Look under Teaching and Learning and then FCRR Reports for reviews of nearly all published reading curricula. Also has FREE reading center activities for download!"
- Literacy InterventionRecommended by Danielle Jackson: "This website offers information on a reading intervention program currently being used in schools across the US. It also has links for literature on reading intervention strategies and research."
APA Citation Help
- RefWorks Citation ManagerRefWorks lets you create your own database of relevant resources, helps you to manage research as you find it, allows you to create your own annotated bibliographies, and incorporate your research in proper APA style into your Word documents.
- APA Citation SitesSee APA resources on the upper right corner of this guide
Literacy Education -- Journals
Literacy research is a cross-disciplinary endeavor, touching on Education, Psychology, Speech Pathology, Anthropological, Religious & Cultural Studies, Library & Information Science, Civic Participation, and Immigration & ESL Acquisition. (Links to Related Subject LibGuides on right)
In looking for articles in databases some helpful descriptors inlcude: Reading Education, Reading Methodology, Literacy, Reading Instruction, literacy factors, or combination of terms. Check whether a database categorizes relevant articles using a variation on these descriptors.
If you find that the database only has an abstract of a salient article, use the the Check-for-Full-text feature to check whether (1) we have electronic access through another database (2) whether we have the print version of microfilm or (3) to facilitiate ordering an article through interlibrary loan.
Research through Citation Searching
When searching to get access to a resource you know exists from a bibliography, check the catalog or WorldCat for books, for articles, check our "full-text e-Journals"
For example to look up the citation:
Alber-Morgan, S., R., Ramp, E. M., & Martin, C. M. (2007). Effects of repeated reading, error correction, and performance feedback on the fluency and comprehension of middle school students with behavior problems. The Journal of Special Education, 41(1), 17-30.
- I would start with an e-Journal search for the title Journal of Special Education
- Check whether the appropriate Journal is on the list.
- Check that the date of the article is covered in our holdings, and choose database access from there.
- Select proper year, volume & issue.
- Scroll down to find correct article.
Be sure to look at the bibliography of any salient articles you find in order to discover seminal articles in the field.
Check whether the database offers information on related Citation links (i.e.: Cited by = subsequent articles that may have built on the research), literature review and bibliography can offer insight into the works Alber-Morgan et al. consulted, and this may be a way to track "seminal articles" on a topic.
International Literacy Research & Analysis
- UN Millenium Development Goals -- #2 educationSee the 2010 progress report, and note the literacy-Related goals, including: Health, poverty and Gender equality
- UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural OrganizationUse Themes A-Z in upper-left corner to explore themes at a granular level.
Note: UNESCO has been tasked with aiding countries reach MDG#2: to "Ensure that, by 2015, children everywhere, boys and girls alike, will be able to complete a full course of primary schooling. " UNESCO promotes and monitors indicators: e.g.: Net enrollment ratio in primary education, the proportion of pupils starting grade 1 who reach grade 5, and the Literacy rate of 15-24 year-olds - UNICEF - Literacy searchUNICEF deals primarily with Children, while UNESCO all deals with adult literacy and teacher training.
- International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) -- Information Literacy


Submit

Loading...
Loading...
