This is the "Research Help" page of the "Dissertations & Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A good starting point for finding doctoral dissertations and Masters Theses, by St. John's students and others
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2012 URL: http://stjohns.campusguides.com/dissertations Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Research Help Print Page
  Search: 
 

Suggest a helpful dissertation resource

 

Off-Campus Access

All of our Libraries' subscription resources are available to you from off-campus.  If you click on one of these links and you are asked for a username and password, enter the same username and password you use to access St. John's Central.

If you are denied access to a publication from off-campus, try accessing the link again, but add the libraries' proxy-prefix (http://jerome.stjohns.edu:81/login?url=) at the very start of the URL in the address box. (NB: Do not leave any space between the proxy-prefis and the Resource URL)

Dissertation & Theses Databases

Finding extant research for a Literature review is an important part of the Thesis and Dissertation process. In addition to searches for Journal articles, books and proceedings within your discipline, searching through other dissertations (which may not be indexed in the major subject databses) offers a wealth of salient data and recent resources, in addition to preventing "academic" heartache down the road.

  • The Role and Nature of the Doctoral Dissertation
    Council of Graduate Schools of the U.S, ERIC #: ED331422
  • WorldCat (OCLC)
    Checking for titles at sponsoring Universities, some universities provide access to full-text PDFs for free. Also helpful for conducting a more through literature review, and for adding books to your refworks account (through the export feature)
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
    An index to Doctoral Dissertations and a limited number of Master’s theses (1861 - ). Abstracts of dissertations (1980 - ), and full-text (1997-). Some full-text access, and some supplemental files available, including raw data, videos, Spreadsheets, PPTs, etc. NOTE: Abstracts of dissertations prior to 1980 must be obtained via the Libraries' interlibrary loan service.
  • Directory of Dissertations in Progress  
    Rating
    "contains 3,822 dissertations in progress at 179 academic departments in Canada and the U.S."
  • Center for Research Libraries  
    Rating
    "CRL has more than 750,000 uncataloged foreign doctoral dissertations, of which approximately 20,000 are included in this database."
  • DDM Online  
    Rating
    "DDM-Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, & ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines."
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Union Catalog  
    Rating
    Selective grouping of full-text of Dissertations available online - no charge.
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations  
    Rating
    NDLTD "is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations."
  • Virginia  
    Rating
    "a clearing-house for online information related to electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) in the humanities. [It is] a directory of most ... of the ETDs that are currently in progress in the various disciplines that comprise the academic humanities."
  • Directory of Conference Proceedings  
    Rating
    Locate published conference proceedings.
 

More Info

Need assistance finding dissertations and theses? Ask us!

Need assistance submitting your thesis/dissertation?  Check the Requirements page

Need help managing hundreds of citations? Try RefWorks.

 

LibGuide Credits

Dissertation resources compiled by: Charles Livermore and Kathryn Shaughnessy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip