Queens Library Research Workshop Descriptions
Below please find the Queens Library Research Workshop descriptions. Workshops usually last about 45-50 minutes and are held St. Augustine Library, Room 307, unless otherwise indicated by Bold location and asterisk (*) -- which indicates that workshop takes place somewhere on-Queens-campus other than Lib307 or takes place online. We recommend using the register link next to a workshop title to ensure your spot in a workshop.
For Staten Island Library Workshops, see the SI workshop schedule
For Technology Workshops in the Library Technology Lab (Lib 110): click here
To see all Queens Library Workshops and Events in Calendar format, click here
NOTE: Workshop times are set up to accomodate people who are here at different times on different days of the week. If you or a colleague would benefit from attending a workshop, but you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop times, please use our “request a workshop” tab to set up a convenient day/time for you and your classmates, club, thesis support group, organization, etc. If you would like to work with a librarian to propose a research workshop use our “request a workshop” tab as well.
General Library Workshops -- General research workshops geared towards all of the STJ community members
Finding Scholarly e-books - register Whether you are off-continent or just off-campus, this session will help you find current e-bookss, or digitized classics for your scholarly research.
Monday, March 4, 10:40 a.m. – 12:05 p.m., **Library 110**
Tuesday, March 5, 12:15 p.m. – 1:40 p.m., **Library 110**
Wednesday, March 6, 1:50 p.m. – 3:15 p.m., **Library 110 & online**
Finding Scholarly Articles: register Better research = better grades. This session will show you how to use periodical databases to locate scholarly journal articles on any topic, and how to access those articles either online or in print.
Monday, March 4, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., Library 307
Tuesday, March 5, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Friday, March 8, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., *Online
Orientation to using Library Resources: register Tour of all the library resources and research-centered services available via the website and in the physical building. Transfer students, Graduate students, new faculty as well as returning faculty and students welcome!
Monday, January 28, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Tuesday, January 29, 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., Library 307
Wednesday, January 30, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Thursday, January 31, 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., Library 307
Monday, February 4, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., Library 307
Wednesday, February 6, 6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m., *Online
Friday, February 8, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., Library 307
Term Paper Research: register Need help with your research? This workshop covers all the bases, and includes choosing a research topic, making a broad topic more specific, finding scholarly sources to support your thesis, evaluating sources, citing sources and avoiding plagiarism.
Tuesday, February 5, 11:00 a.m. – 11:50 a.m., Library 307
Monday, February 11, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Library 307
Thursday, February 14, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. *Online
Thursday, March 7, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Library 307
Tuesday, March 12, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., **Library 308**
Thursday, March 14, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., *Online
Tuesday, March 19, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. , Library 307
Thursday, March 21, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. , Library 307
Tuesday, March 26 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., *Online
Tuesday, April 9, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., *Online
Wednesday, April 10, 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m., *Online
Thursday, April 11, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Library 307
Friday, April 12, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., *Online
Tuesday, April 16 , 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. , Library 307
Tuesday, April 23, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., *Online
Thursday, April 25, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Thursday, April 25, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Library 307
Tuesday, April 30, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Workshops geared towards specific Disciplines register
Library Resources for BUSINESS Majors: register -- Review the basic business resources available from the Database A-Z list and internet resources.
Wednesday, February 13, 1:50 p.m. – 3:15 p.m., Library 307
Library Resources for ENGLISH Majors: register -- This session will focus on resources and library services which are particularly useful for English majors, including an introduction to citing sources using MLA
Monday, March 4, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Library Research for Students of GOVERNMENT & POLITICS: register -- This session will focus on resources and library services for the study Government & Politics, and will cover topics such as finding scholarly information in the library and on the free Web, evaluating information and citing sources properly.
Tuesday, February 19, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Monday, March 4, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. *Online
Tuesday, April 2, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Library Resources for HISTORY Majors: register -- This session will focus on resources and library services which are particularly useful for history majors, including an introduction to citing sources using Chicago Style Manual
Library Resources for PHILOSOPHY Majors: register -- This session will focus on resources and library services which are particularly useful for Philosophy majors, including an introduction to citing sources.
Thursday, February 7, 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., Library 307
Tuesday, March 26, 12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m., *Online
Library Resources for students of Sports Management register -- This session will focus on resources and library services which are particularly useful for Sports Management majors, including an introduction to citing print and electronic research materials.
Tuesday, February 19, 1:50 p.m. – 3:15 p.m., Library 307
Workshops covering citing Sources & Bibliographic Management
Citing Sources/Avoiding Plagiarism: register Citing Sources & Avoiding Plagiarism (LEAD): The session will include a definition of plagiarism, an identification of various forms of plagiarism, a discussion of why plagiarism is a serious issue both in academia and society at large, common ways that plagiarizers get caught, theconsequences of plagiarism, and the ways to avoid plagiarism.
Wednesday, February 20, 3:50 p.m. – 4:40 p.m., **DAC308 **
Thursday, March 7, 1:50 p.m. – 2:40 p.m., **DAC306 **
Wednesday, March 20, 12:40 p.m. – 1:30 p.m., **DAC308 **
Using RefWorks to Manage/Cite Research (bibliographic manager): register Cite sources more easily, more quickly, and more accurately by using RefWorks! This workshop will show you how to create a RefWorks account, where you can manage your research sources, create bibliographies, and insert parenthetical references or footnotes directly into a Word document, saving you valuable time in the process.
Monday, February 4, 9:15 a.m. – 10:15 a.m., **Library 110**
Tuesday, February 5, 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., **Library 110**
Wednesday, February 6, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., *Library 110 & online
Tuesday, March 19, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., *Online
Wednesday, March 20, 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m., Library 307
Thursday, March 21, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Thursday, April 4, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Library 307
Tuesday, April 16 , 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., * Online
Tuesday, April 23, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Using Zotero to Manage/Cite Research (bibliographic manager): register Learn the basics of Zotero, a free open-source reference management tool that allows you to collect, store and organize research-related bibliographic information. Zotero runs best on the Firefox browser.
Wednesday, February 6, 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., **Library 110**
Thursday, February 7, 9:15 a.m. – 10:15 a.m., **Library 110**
Friday, February 8, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., **Library 110**
Monday, March 18, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., **Library 110**
Tuesday, March 19, 12:15 p.m. – 1:1:15 p.m., **Library 110**
Wednesday, March 20, 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., *Library 110 & online
Thursday, April 4, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Workshops geared towards Academic Resource-Creation Technology: ( other Library Technology Workshops )
Creating and Editing Movies with Windows Movie Maker (PC): register Learn how to make and edit short films using your computer, an Internet connection, and free software. Topics will include importing image and video files, adding sound effects, music, and voiceovers, and adding visual effects.
Tuesday, March 5, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., **Library 308 **
Monday, March 11, 10:40 a.m. – 12:05 p.m., **Library 110**
Tuesday, March 12, 9:05 a.m. – 10:30 a.m., **Library 110 **
Wednesday, March 13, 10:40 a.m. – 12:05 p.m., *Library 110 & online
Thursday, April 11, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Library 307
Creating and Editing Movies with iMovie (MAC): register Learn how to make and edit short films using your Mac, an Internet connection, and free software. Topics will include importing image and video files, adding sound effects, music, and voiceovers, and adding visual effects.
Wednesday, March 20, 10:40 a.m. – 12:05 p.m., *Library 110 & online
Thursday, March 21, 12:15 p.m. – 1:40 p.m., **Library 110 **
Friday, March 22, 10:40 a.m. – 12:05 p.m., **Library 110 **
Thursday, April 11, 12:15 p.m. – 1:40 p.m., **Library 110 **
If you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop time above, please use our “request a workshop” tab (above, or links below) to set up a convenient day/time for you and your classmates, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.
If you would like to work with a librarian to propose a workshop, please use the links below as well:
Request a Library Research Workshop
Request an Educational Technology workshop
Workshops geared toward advanced research & Professional Development
Discipline Research for Graduate Students and Faculty in Business register
Monday, February 4, 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., Library 307
Discipline Research for Graduate Students and Faculty in English register
Monday, February 4, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Monday, March 18, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Discipline Research for Graduate Students and Faculty in History register
Monday, February 11, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Approaches to Multidisciplinary / Social Justice Research for Graduate Students and Faculty register
Wednesday, February 13, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., *Library 110 & online
Library Resources for Careers and Job Hunting register -- An introduction to researching companies, non-profit organizations, and government agencies—in preparation for the job interview. Resources for the preparation of a resume and for planning the job interview will also be discussed
Friday, February 8, 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m., Library 307
Thursday, February 21, 10:40 a.m. – 12:05 p.m., Library 307
Creating an Effective Poster Presentation - register -- Get some pointers on how to create an interesting and effective poster presentation for your next conference.
Monday, March 25, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m., Library 307
Resources for Thesis Literature Review register -- When compiling research for you Master's thesis or Doctoral dissertation, you want to be sure you have found all the related literature related to your thesis, to inform your work and to be sure you are not "re-inventing the wheel" -- This workshop will help you to unearth resources from various scholarly venues.
Monday, March 25, 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Library 307
Tuesday, March 26, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., Library 307
Wednesday, March 27, 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. *Online

Loading...
