This is the "Troubleshooting" page of the "RefWorks Toolkit" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Admin Sign In 

RefWorks Toolkit  Tags: refworks database_tutorial gdsj scholarly_communication  

How-to guide for using RefWorks. Information and tutorials on starting an account, entering/importing data from various databases, managing your acount, using Write-n-Cite and searching withing RefWorks.
Last update: Jun 25th, 2010 URL: http://stjohns.campusguides.com/RefWorks  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates  Email Alerts ShareThis

Troubleshooting            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Things work fine with my computer, but I am working on a new computer

PCs and MACs with new versions of MSWord. MSWORD on St. John's Computers (desktop and laptops) are set to default to "compatibility Mode." making them readable by earlier versions of Word. If you are using a most recent version of MSWord on another computer, be sure to "SAVE AS" .DOC as the bibliography functions and WNC won't work with .DOCX

If you have a MAC, RefWorks doesn't work with Safari -- try one of the browsers listed to the right.

If your are using Write-n-Cite on a new computer, you will need to download the Wrtie-n-Cite application to the new computer.  Refworks is web-based and accessible from anywhere, WNC is based locally on each computer.

 

Group Code Please?

Problem: prompted for the Group code when logging in to RefWorks: Do not use the commercial website, rather, use the St. John's Libraries' authenticated link for RefWorks: http://libraries.stjohns.edu/refworks/  This URL will allow you to access your St.John's RefWorks account, whether you are accessing it from on-campus or off-campus.

Problem: prompted for the Group code when logging in to Write-N-Cite: Please complete the 2nd step of WNC installation (CONFIGURING Write-N-Cite) as found on the WNC tab.

 

The Output style I want isn't one of my choices

Certificate Error

Sometimes, when RefWorks upgrades their server, or Browsers upgrade, you may get a certificate error.  As long as you have accessed RefWorks from either (a) our library website, (b) one of our databases, or going directly to "http://libraries.stjohns.edu/refworks" you can continue the process with confidence. While one should not click through every certificate error, you can safely add "refworks. com" and "jerome.stjohns.edu" as safe sites.  Adding the sites can vary from browser to browser, but some directions for porceeding can be found in the blog entry below.

 
 

Compatibility

REFWORKS is compatible with the following:

Browsers:

  • Internet Explorer Version 5.0 or later (Windows only)
  • Netscape Version 6.0 or later (Windows and Mac)
  • Firefox 1.X or later (Windows and Mac)

Word Processors:

  • Word for Windows 2000 or later
  • Word for Mac 2004 or later

You can also use any word processor including Ami-Pro, FrameMaker, OpenOffice, StarOffice, Word Perfect or any other program which allows you to save your files as RTF. 

 

WRITE-N-CITE  compatible with the following applications:

Write-N-Cite is only compatible with MS Word.  All other word processing software users should use One Line/Cite View for their documents.  If using a most recent version of word, be sure to "SAVE AS .DOC" as WNC won't work with .DOCX

  • Microsoft Word 2000 and up
  • Windows 98, ME, NT, 2000 and XP
  • Internet Explorer 5.0 and up

Write-N-Cite for Macintosh is compatible with the following applications:

  • Microsoft Word for Mac 2004 and 2008
  • Mac OS X version 10.3 or later
 

Using WNC III off-line

You can use WNC to insert your references and format a bibliography when you are off-line, but you will need to have connectivity long enough to download your selected references/folder from RefWorks and you *might* need to do some reconfiguring of your default port for WNC.

The instructions for using WNC off-line can be found here

If you are still having difficulty, please email us at refworks@stjohns.edu so that someone can work with you.  In your email please include information on what type of computer you are using, which browser and what version of MSWord you are using.

 

RefShare error message

Using RefShare, you can share you folder or your entire database, just be sure to add the libraries' proxy URL prefix (http://jerome.stjohns.edu:81/login?url=) to beginning of your RefShare URL to ensure that your St. John's colleagues can access your folder when they are off-campus.

 

"Portability" and Sharing References in RefWorks

Can I still keep my database after I graduate or leave the university?
Yes. Any RefWorks user with an existing account at St. John's can purchase an individual license to the service from RefWorks at a preferred rate of $50.00 per year. If you are moving to another institution that uses RefWorks, contact RefWorks Support by phone (775) 327 4105 or email:  support@refworks.com and they will work with your to transfer your existing database to the new institution.

Can I share my database/folder with colleagues within our St. John's institution? Yes, using RefShare, you can share a folder or your entire database, be sure to add the proxy URL prefix ( http://jerome.stjohns.edu:81/login?url= ) to beginning of the RefShare URL to ensure that your colleagues can access you folder when they are off-campus.

Can I share my database/folder with colleagues *outside* our institution? If your colleague is not a St. John's community member, the best way would be to export your reference data into a format that is compatible with their reference management system (RefWorks-Tagged format, BibTeX, ProCite, Reference Manager, EndNote, or any other program that supports the RIS Format -- as well as XML and Tab Delimited) consulting the directions for Exporting a Database for more information

 

 
 

Forgot password?

On the St. John's Log-in screen for RefWorks, there is a link (Forgot your log-in?just below the username and password fields. Click on that link and enter the email address you used to set up the account. RefWorks will send along your previous log-in information in a separate email.

 

Nothing shows up...

If you have executed a function (e.g.: generated a bibliogrpahy, exported from Science Direct, etc) and it appears as if nothing is showing up, check whether your browser's "pop-up blocker" is preventing you from seeing the results.  Click on the pop-up blocker notification and click "always allow pop-ups from Refworks"or add refworks.com to your "allowed" sites in your browser's Tools/Options.

 

Other issues?

If you are having a problem not listed here, please take a screen shot* of your computer screen at the "point of problem" and email us at refworks@stjohns.edu so we have a better idea of the problems you are facing. Please also let us know what what kind of computer you are using (PC, MAC, etc.) browser (FireFox, IE6 or IE7) and what Operating System you are using (Vista, XP, Mac Jaguar etc.)


(To take a screen shot press Shift+PrtSc and paste (Ctrl+V) the image/s into a Word Document and attach the document to your email.)

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait