STJ RefWorks tutorials
- Exporting from ProQuest to RefWorks

- Exporting from EBSCOhost to RefWorks

- Exporting from Lexis/Nexis to RefWorks

- Exporting Instructions by Database
Refworks maintains a list of up-to-date instructions for the best way to import information for numerous databases - Exporting StJ Library Book citations into RefWorks (through WorldCat)
NOTE: We are working with RefWorks to create an automatic export method from our new Koha Catalog. Until then, your best bet is to import book information from WorldCat. - Exporting from Google Books to RefWorks
Auto-import only works on campus. From off-campus, you will need the RefWorks GroupCode found in your "welcome letter" from RefWorks - Exporting from MegaSearch to RefWorks
NOTE: Exports from MegaSearch works most smoothly by clicking on an individual item link, and exporting from the database directly. The one exception is Book/Catalog results; Until the export feature for the new catalog can be worked out, use this tutorial for help on editing the RefType for your MegaSearch imported entry, or use the WorldCat import (see tutorial above), or enter them manually. - Connect to RefWorks
Import/Export instructions by Database
EXPORT INSTRUCTIONS BY DATABASE: Refworks maintains this list of up-to-date instructions for exporting information from numerous databases, including ProQuest, Ebsco, PubMed, ArtStor, etc.
General guidelines -- Direction covering direct, filtered and manual importation of data are offeredbelow. While the library makes every effort to provide video/text tutorials for resources within each discipline guide (see Finding Articles Toolkit), and for the most popular resources (see guide-box to the left), video instructions cannot be created and/or updated as quickly as resource interfaces/filters change. So, if you need to import from a database that is not covered in our videos to the left, please cosult general guidelines below, as well as the up-to-date instructions provided by RefWorks.
Direct Export: Importing Data Directly from a Database:
- Under the "save" or "export" function within the online database service, select or click the save to RefWorks option.
- If you have your RefWorks account already open (suggested), the import will automatically begin. If not, then you will be prompted to the RefWorks login page; after you login, the import will automatically begin.
- Select View Last Imported Folder to review the imported records.
Direct export to RefWorks is available from many online databases. Please note that the steps involved in exporting will vary according to database - for details about exporting from an individual database, click on the database name from the menu on this RefWorks page
Helpful Hint: Every reference added to RefWorks needs to have a Source Type – the source type determines the relevant data field that show up as REQUIRED for a bibliography. The default Source Type is “electronic” but you can change your default Source Type settings under the Tools Menu.
Indirect Export -- Importing Data from a text file:
References can be imported into RefWorks from a text file (txt.) created by saving references from a wide variety of online services and other bibliographic management programs.
- Retrieve the results you want to export from the online database, SJU catalog or non-RefWorks bibliographic manager, and save them to a text file. If the database vendor lists several different formats for saving the references, see the RefWorks Help file for further details on the appropriate selection.
- Access your RefWorks account and click References from the drop-down menu; then select Import.
- On the subsequent menu, access the drop-down menu next to Import Filter/Data Source and click the source of the data.
- Click on the Database drop-down menu and select the source database.
- Click on the Import References Into menu and designate the specific folder where you want to file the imported references. If you do not choose a folder, the references will automatically go into a folder titled Last Imported Folder.
- Enter file name into Import Data from the following Text File by browsing and selecting or manually typing in the file name.
- Click on Import at the bottom of the screen. When the import is complete, select View Last Imported Folder to review and modify the imported references.
Helpful Hint: An up to date listing of all the online services and databases that are supported by RefWorks, can be found on the Import Filter List.
Manual Entry
- Select References from the pull-down menu tool bar and then choose Add New Reference.
- Start by selecting your bibliographic output style (e.g. APA, Chicago, MLA) under View fields use by.
- Designate the type of reference you are entering (e.g. journal, book, or dissertation) under Ref Type. Field names marked with a green checkmark indicate recommended information needed to produce an accurate bibliography for the selected output style and reference type. These fields are not required to save the actual reference in RefWorks.
- Enter information in the boxes provided and click Save when finished.
Helpful Hint: Click on any green checkmark to view style-specific notes. You can also check for style changes by clicking on More detailed information available here at the bottom of the page.
Searching/Exportation from with the RefWorks interface
You can use RefWorks as a search interface for a number of online resources. RefWorks provides access to a number of publicly available services such as NLM’s PubMed as well as many universities’ online catalogs.
- From the Search pull-down menu, select Online Catalog or Database.
- Under Online Database to Search, select a database from the drop down menu.
- Select the Max. Number of References to Download from the drop-down menu.
- Enter terms in either the Quick Search for: or in the Advanced Search for: box.
- Click on Search to begin your search. A new window will open displaying your search results.
- Select the references you wish to import into your RefWorks account and click Import.
Description
Loading content... please wait


