Off-Campus Access
All of our subscription-based resources are available to you from off-campus. If you click on one of these links and you are asked for a username and password, enter the same username and password you use to access St. John's Central.
Comments (0)
Marketing and Market Research
- ABI/Inform - UMI (ProQuest)Full text articles from ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Includes information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and individual companies.
- Ad*AccessAccess archival advertisements. Covers over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955
- Advertising Campus GuideLibGuide by Anthony Todman, covers major resources for advertising research
- Green BookGuide for buyers of Market Research
- Life Magazine Archives (Google Books)Search back issues of Life Magazine--includes historical advertisements.
- Red Books.com (Advertising Red Books)Full text coverage of Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies and Standard Directory of Advertisers
General Business Information Databases
- ABI/Inform - UMI (Proquest)Full text articles from ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Includes information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and individual companies. How do I?
- American Library Association. BRASS. Business SourcesGuide to core business information resources.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
- Business Source Premier--Business Searching InterfaceSearching interface to Business Source Premier provides access to articles, industry profiles, working papers, company profiles, etc.
- EBSCOhostFull text articles on all aspects of business including management, marketing, and government regulations. For best results select All Databases and choose Business Source Premier and Academic Search Premier to focus on business topics.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic UniverseProvides company information (including SEC filings), accounting regulations and selected articles from journals, and country reports.
- ScienceDirectDespite its name, this database contains full text articles on business, economics, finance, among other subjects (Note: St. John’s users can only access full text for journals to which the Library subscribes.)
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 472,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 384,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. Topics covered include: Accounting, Marketing, Finance, Management and Entrepreneurship
- Wall Street Journal (Proquest)Financial newspaper covers business, financial and national news. Coverage from 1984 to present.
- Wall Street Journal Historical (Proquest)Full text coverage of Wall Street Journal from 1889-1992. Find articles covering events such as the Stock Market Crash of 1929.
Economics & Finance
- CountryWatch Premium OnlineContains geopolitical reports, real-time news, downloadable statistical data, and thematic world maps for each of the world’s countries.
- EconLitBibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature dating back to 1969, produced by the American Economic Association.
- Journal Storage (JSTOR)Full text articles related to Business and Economics, among other subjects. Most articles are at least 2 years old.
- Reuters Business InsightsBusiness intelligence reports focusing on energy, consumer goods, finance, healthcare and technology. Noe: Click Log In, then enter username aacsboffer and password: aacsboffer. (Only some full text reports are available.)
- ScienceDirectDespite its name, this database contains full text articles on business, economics, finance, among other subjects (Note: St. John’s users can only access full text for journals to which the Library subscribes.)
- U.S. Economy at a Glance (Bureau of Labor StatisticsKeep track of current statistics including unemployment rates, state or regional economic data, and the Consumer Price Index.
Company & Industry Information
- ABI/Inform - UMI (Proquest)Full text articles from ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Includes information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and individual companies.
- Academic Universe (LexisNexis)Comprehensive database for business. Includes business directories, biographies, financial information, and full text news.
- Barron's (Proquest)One of America's premier business magazines.
- Business Plans Index (Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh)Links to business plans
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Full text articles on all aspects of business including management, marketing, and government regulations. How do I?
- Conference Board: Business KnowledgeFull text information and analysis about management and the marketplace, including studies, forecasts, and trends. Best known for the Consumer Confidence Index.
- D&B's Million Dollar DatabasesInformation on public and private companies worldwide, including headquarter and branch locations.
- Hoover's OnlineContains company and industry profiles, with financial information, job listings, and more.
- International Directory of Company Histories (Gale)Search a collection of International Directory of Company Histories eBooks.
- Journal Storage (JSTOR)Full text articles related to Business and Economics, among other subjects. Most articles are at least 2 years old.
- Mergent Online (formerly Moody's)Full text SEC filings and industry reports, augmented with advanced search capabilities. Also provides company information, including history, subsidiaries, officers and directors, news headlines, income statement and balance sheets.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)Locate industry NAICS numbers via the official Government site.
- Regional Business News (EBSCO)Full text local business news for all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.
- Sports Business Research NetworkMarket research, full text articles, and associations related to the Sports Industry.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantageAnalysis of companies, industries, and mutual funds. Includes stock reports, industry surveys, and other publications.
- Standard Industrial ClassificationLocate SIC code numbers for industry
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (ThomasNet.com)Search for products and services, companies, brand names, and service information of U.S. companies.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Business and Economics |
Subject Guide |
Contact Info St.Augustine Hall, Room B 18-A (718) 990-6712 sankowsa@stjohns.edu Links: Profile & Guides |
Business & Econ Subject Specialists
Need assistance finding business/economics resources? Contact the Libraries' subject specialists:
Lucy Heckman [heckmanl@stjohns.edu; 718-990-6571]
Andrew Sankowski [sankowsa@stjohns.edu; 718-990-6712]
Accounting & Taxation
- Accounting Research ManagerThis database replaces several accounting products on CD-ROMs that we have subscribed to [Financial Accounting Research System (FARS); Governmental Accounting Research System (GARS); International Accounting Standard’s; and Resource: AICPA’S Accounting & Auditing Literature] At the present time, we are subscribing to only 1 (one) concurrent user.
- CCH IntelliConnectInformation related to taxation and acounting, including news, legal proceedings, and more. Includes full text of Internal Revenue Code.
- Digital Accounting CollectionSponsored by the University of Mississippi, repository of selected full-text resources including Accounting Historians Journal and back issues of AICPA Exposure Drafts and selected historical pamphlets.
Government Regulations
- CCH IntelliConnectFull text information on Employment Law, Safety, Healthcare, Food and Drug, Payroll, Pension & Benefits, and Forms.


Loading...
