This is the "Home" page of the "SciInq: Environmental and Medicinal Approach" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SciInq: Environmental and Medicinal Approach  

A research support guide for Prof. Verdis's Scientific Inquiry Course
Last Updated: Feb 16, 2012 URL: http://stjohns.campusguides.com/SqiInqMedEnv Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Resources

EPA Report by zipcode

Spacer

Some Helpful Government Databases

  • NIH -- Household Products Database
    "What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room? Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling."

    Search this database by product, manufacturer, ingredient or health effects. Links to Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) where available.
  • FDA -- Indirect Food Additives Database
    These are substances used in food-contact articles, and include adhesives and components of coatings (Part 175), paper and paperboard components (Part 176), polymers (Part 177), and adjuvants and production aids (Part 178). In general, these are substances that may come into contact with food as part of packaging or processing equipment, but are not intended to be added directly to food.
  • FDA - Everything Added to Food in the United States (EAFUS)
    The EAFUS list of substances contains ingredients added directly to food that FDA has either approved as food additives or listed or affirmed as GRAS. Nevertheless, it contains only a partial list of all food ingredients that may in fact be lawfully added to food, because under federal law some ingredients may be added to food under a Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) determination made independently from the FDA.
  • US Patent Search database
    To find the most recently issued patent numbers of each patent type (i.e., the highest number issued or for which you can search within each patent type), go to ftp://ftp.uspto.gov/pub/patdata and look at the most recent week's .rpt, .txt, or .zip files for a summary of the week's issue.

Related LibGuides

Links to Subject LibGuides are provided below.  Using the databases dedicated to a subject will help you find scholarly research being done on your topic.

Websites

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip