Suggest a Resource
Know of a resource that is helpful for understanding Research Methods in the Social Sciences? Add a suggestion below.
Social Science/Services Databases
- Social Services Abstracts (CSA)
Index with abstracts of social work, human services, and related research, dating back to 1980. - ProQuest Social Science Journals
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Resources by Subject
The problems one deals with in Human Services can have various facets, requiring that you execute research across disciplines. The links below represent some (but not all) of the disciplines that may inform your research.
Multidisciplinary Research
Exploring the "literature" for a multidisciplinary topic may require that you start by investigating new terminology. Keep in mind that different disciplines may use different words to describe the same phenomena, or a word may mean something very specific within a discipline, in contrast to how it is used in everyday language. To become familiar with word usage in a discipline, look it up in in a "subject reference source "first (Subject Encyclopedia or Subject Dictionary) to untangle terminology, and use the "suggested subject" links within the databases to find related materials/ headings.
Some tips for exploratory research on a multidisciplinary topic in the databases: When doing cross-disciplinary research 1) be ready to use both multidisciplinary databases (wide but shallow) and supplement that search in additional subject-specific databases (gives more depth) 2) be ready with synonyms for a given word when in executing a search in another "discipline" 3) if you are looking for an overview or for specific comparative elements look for articles that have some of the following "keywords" in the title, e.g.: "overview," "review," "case study," "policy," "survey of the literature." Alternatively, if looking for a specific moral appraisal, try "ethics," "professional guidelines" "professional code" "comparative analysis," "social justice" 4) look at the bibliography/references section of an article if you see a reference that looks helpful. 5) look for indicators of articles or thinkers who are "important" on that topic, preferably in more than one discipline. (e.g.: perhaps the article, work or author have been cited extensively; this information can be found in Citation indexes--if available--and Google scholar).
What to use, and when: Databases and catalogs are good for finding the breadth and depth of the information, articles and books that available to you when you are armed with a topic; GoogleScholar (federated searching with "Check for Full" text engaged) and WorldCat are good for finding where in the world something is, when you are armed with a citation.
Different disciplines use different citation styles. By importing references into RefWorks, you can automatically generate an MLA bibliography more easily for works from various disciplines -- you can then switch them all over to APA or a specific Journal style by choosing a different "output style". In addition RefWorks can help you 1) organize your research and 2) add comments in the abstract field to create annotated bibliographies.
If you get stuck or would like more help, contact any of our subject or reference library faculty, we are ready to help, in person, by phone, email or SMS service!
Some articles on "Reading a research paper"
Some criteria for evaluating the scholarly nature of research articles are listed below. Although the criteria are geared toward experiemental sciences, the same general qualities can be found in Arts and Humanities research resources as well:
-
Theory/Hypothesis -- A question or problem
-
Literature review -- A thorough search of previous research that addresses the problem (or ones like them)
-
Methodology -- A guideline explaining of method used to gather data (details about example questions, experiment, analysis of letters)
-
Data -- Raw data and organized data -- the information that was gathered and organized and/or "coded"
-
Interpretation of Data -- Analysis of gathered data in relation to hypothesis and in relation to previous research
-
Conclusion/Findings -- summary of research conducted, and significance in relation to the field. Some proposal for further research.
-
Bibliography/References -- from both literature and analysis portions
- Understanding and Writing a Literature Review (U. of Maine)Purpose of a literature review:
* Contributes to a greater understanding of the total scholarship written in a particular subject area.
* Identifies strengths and weaknesses of published studies.
* Identifies key scholars, themes, problems, controversies, and trends.
* Places specific concepts/ideas in the context of a broader subject - 6 Reading Habits to Develop in Your First Year (Harvard)"Critical reading—active engagement and interaction with texts—is essential to your academic success...and to your intellectual growth. Research has shown that students who read deliberately retain more information and retain it longer."
- How to Read a Research ArticleHudson-Barr, Diane. Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing; Apr-Jun2004, Vol. 9 Issue 2, p70-72, 3p
- How to read a paper: Assessing the methodological quality of published papersBMJ 1997;315:305-308 (2 August) by Trisha Greenhalgh (part of a whole BMJ series on how to read a paper)
- Conducting literature Review in Education and Behavioral SciencesFrom Adelphi University
- Writing a Literature ReviewUniv. of Wisconsin Writing Center
- RefShare folder of additional "how to read" Meta-articlesHow to read a contract, how to read a patent, etc.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info St. Augustine Library Queens Campus 718-990-1454 Skype: kgshaughnessy Office Hours: Library 312C Weekdays by appointment Evenings W: 5-7pm; Th 4-6pm Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Philosophy, Social_Justice, Catholic_Social_Teaching, GDSJ, ICT_literacy, Social_Web, Podcasts, RSS |
APA (American Psychological Association)
Please note that APA has a new 6th edition (2009). Although the university-sponsored sites offer helpful guidelines, please refer to the APA guide (available at the Reference Desk) or the APA website for most recent details.
- APA tutorial on basics
- Sample paper with references, from APA siteOffers sample with latest (6th edition) style guidelines and referencing updates
- Purdue OWL (6th ed.)
- Univ. Toronto (5th ed)
- Adding the most recent Output Style to your RefWorks account
AskUs
Our librarians are ready to assist you with your research 7 days a week, so stop by the reference desk at the library if you need some help. If you’re not on campus, you can call us at 718-990-6727 (Queens) or go to or use our AskUs Service to submit a question and we’ll email you an answer.
In addition to services at the Reference Desk, you can set up a one-on-one consultation with a librarian who will advise you on effective research strategies. Each
For further information, please contact: Prof. Lucy Heckman, (718) 990-6571.


Submit




Loading...
