This is the "Research Workshop: Descriptions" page of the "Queens Library Workshop Schedule (St. Augustine Library)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Homepage Library Homepage Ask A Librarian

Register to attend one of the Research-oriented workshops sponsored by the Queens Campus Library, or request a research-oriented workshop for your organization / department / class
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://stjohns.campusguides.com/QLWorkshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Workshop: Descriptions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Queens Library Research Workshop Descriptions

Note: Queens workshop times are set up to accomodate people who are on campus at different times on different days of the week.  If you or a colleague would benefit from attending a workshop, but you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop times, please email the workshop presenter (listed on the "register" page) to set up a convenient day/time for a one-on-one appointment or to schedule a workshop for your class, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.

MOBILE VERSION/Combined Calendar of all SJU Library workshops (Staten Island, Queens, Online)


GENERAL LIBRARY RESEARCH WORKSHOPS

Orientation to using Library Resources  -- Request a one-on-one Orientation or schedule a workshop
Tour of all the library resources and research-centered services available via the website and in the physical building. Transfer students, Graduate students, new faculty as well as returning faculty and students welcome! --   Related LibGuide: Orientation to the St. Augustine Library (Queens)


Term Paper Research 
Need help with your research? This workshop covers all the bases, and includes choosing a research topic, making a broad topic more specific, finding scholarly sources to support your thesis, evaluating sources, citing sources and avoiding plagiarism. ---Related LibGuide: Research Survival Guide
Mon     April 7     2:00pm – 3:00pm     Lib 307      --register
Tues     April 22      4:00pm – 5:00pm      Lib 307     -- register


E-books for Research  Request a one-on-one appointment  or schedule a workshop
Whether you are off-continent or just off-campus, this session will help you find current e-books, or digitized classics for your scholarly research. ---   Related LibGuide: Electronic Books

Database Secrets for research --
Wed     Feb 26     11:00am – 12:00pm      Lib 307     register
This session will show you how to use periodical databases to locate scholarly journal articles on any topic, and how to access those articles either online or in print.  --- Related LibGuide: Finding Scholarly Articles  


CITING SOURCES AND BILBIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT

Plagiarism: Ethics & Citation  (with LEAD / DNY):   The session will include a definition of plagiarism, an identification of various forms of plagiarism, a discussion of why plagiarism is a serious issue both in academia and society at large, common ways that plagiarizers get caught, the consequences of plagiarism, and the ways to avoid plagiarism. --   Related Libguide: Privacy, Copyright, Plagiarism -- Ethics and the Web

Wed     Feb 19     12:40pm-1:30pm     DAC 308      --register
Wed     Mar 26     9:30am-10:20pm     DAC 309      --register



RefWorks: Citation manager for research:   Cite sources more easily, more quickly, and more accurately by using RefWorks! This workshop will show you how to create a RefWorks account, where you can manage your research sources, create bibliographies, and insert parenthetical references or footnotes directly into a Word document, saving you valuable time in the process. --  Related LibGuide: Refworks Toolkit
Tues     Apr 1    4:00pm – 5:00pm     Lib 307      --register
Mon     Apr 28     3:30pm – 4:30pm     Lib 307 -     -register



Zotero: Citation manager for research):   Learn the basics of Zotero, a free open-source reference management tool that allows you to collect, store and organize research-related bibliographic information. The session also covers creating an account, and using an applet to  insert Zotero citations within a Word document.  Zotero runs best on the Firefox browser.  ---   Related LibGuide: Zotero
Tues     Apr 1     5:00pm – 6:00pm     Lib 307     --register
Tues     Apr 29     3:30pm – 4:30pm     Lib 307     --register

Workshops geared toward advanced research & Professional Development

Note: Queens workshop times are set up to accomodate people who are on campus at different times on different days of the week. If you or a colleague would benefit from attending a workshop, but you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop times, please email the workshop presenter (listed on the "register" page) to set up a convenient day/time for a one-on-one appointment or to schedule a workshop for your class, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.

DISCIPLINE RESEARCH AND CAREER DEVELOPMENT

Advanced Research Workshops: emphasizes the resources and services which the library provides for specific Disciplines, including finding scholarly information from our library and on the open Web, evaluating information, citing print/electronic sources properly within the discipline, and discipline-specific Librarian help with your academic and professional research.  Related LibGuide: the related word serves as a link to the corresponding LibGuide

Advertising/PR Resources for Research - Thurs Mar 13, 3:30pm – 4:30pm, Lib 307 register 

Business Resources for Research (undergrad) -  Tues Mar, 18, 11:00am – 12:00pm, Lib 307 register

Business Resources for Research (grad) - Tues, Mar 11, 3:00pm – 4:00pm, Lib 307,  register

Criminal Justice Resources for Research  - Thurs, Mar 27, 3:30pm – 4:30pm, Lib 307, register 

Education Resources for Research -  Mon Mar 17, 3:30pm – 4:30pm, Lib 307, register

English Resources for Research (grad) -Tues, Apr 15, 500pm – 6:00pm, Lib 307, register

GovernmentPolitics Resources for Research -- Tues, Apr 15, 10:00am – 11:00am, Lib 307, register

History Resources for Research (grad) - Tues, Mar 18, 5:00pm – 6:00pm Lib 307, register

Multidisciplinary Resources for Research - request an appointment or workshop

Philosophy Resources for Research - Thurs, April 3, 11:00pm – 12:00pm, Lib 307, register

Social Justice Resources for Research --  request an appointment or workshop

Sports Management Resources for Research - Tues, Mar 25, 3:00pm – 4:00pm, Lib 307, register 

Theology Resources for Research --  Wed, Mar 12, 12:00pm – 1:00pm, Lib 307 -- register


Engaging with Primary Resources:  Make the most of these substantial repositories of primary resources. Attend a workshop (below) or  contact the workshop presenter on the "register" link below for more info on setting up a workshop or to make a one-on-one appointment.  Note: the title of the workshop serves as a link to the corresponding LibGuide

Catholic Relief Services (CRS) & Global Solidarity Network (GSN)Wed, Feb 26, 3:30pm – 4:30pm, Online, register

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA):  - Wed, Apr 9, 3:30am – 4:30pm, Lib 307,  register

 .GOV Resources:   Thu, Feb 21, 3:30-4:30  -   Lib 307  - register

Historical Newspapers Fri, March 14, 3:30pm – 4:30pm, Lib 307 register

UN Website and DatabasesMon, Mar 24, 11:00am – 12:00pm, Lib 307, register


Resume v. E-Portfolios: Creating a professional e-portfolio that  employers are looking for
Monday     April 7     11:00am – 12:00pm     Lib 110 & Online     --register
Covers how to illustrate that you have skills that employers are looking for, good organization of content in your ePortfolio, and how to design your ePortfolio to look professional. -- Related LibGuide ePortfolios to Ehance Career Opportunities

Careers and Job Hunting: Resources for Career Research
Mon     Mar 10     11:00am – 12:00pm     Lib 307     register
Discover what your library can do for you when it comes to your career!

Poster Presenting: Tips & Tricks:
Tues     Feb 25     5:00pm – 6:00pm     Lib 307     register
 
Nervous about an upcoming poster presentation on your research? Pick up some tips and tricks from a university librarian. -- Related LibGuide: Research Presentation

Thesis/Doctoral Literature Review -- Request a 1:1 appointment with your subject-specialist Librarian

For additional workshops geared towards academic & professional use of technologies, resource-creation technology and creating e-portfolios, see  the LIBRARY TECHNOLOGY WORKSHOPS http://stjohns.campusguides.com/QLTechWorkshops

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip