This is the "Tech Workshop Descriptions" page of the "SJU Library & Educational Technology Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University Homepage Library Homepage Ask A Librarian

SJU Library & Educational Technology Workshops  

Register to attend an educational technology workshop for life-long learning and professional development with Information and Communication Technologies.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://stjohns.campusguides.com/QLTechWorkshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Tech Workshop Descriptions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LibTech Workshop Descriptions and Schedule

Technology Workshops usually last about 1 hour  and are held St. Augustine Library, Room 110, unless otherwise indicated -- by Bold location and asterisk (*). Come to just watch, or bring your laptop/device to try hands-on workshop experience.  We recommend using the register link next to a workshop to ensure your spot in a workshop. 

MOBILE VERSION/Combined Calendar of all SJU Library workshops (Staten Island, Queens, Online)


HARDWARE:  The Lib 110 lab acts as a “technology petting zoo” for hands-on exploration of newer devices, explore, and ask questions!  We can also demonstrate how a particular device (iPads, Kindles, Nooks, Google Nexus, Galaxy Tablet, and MS surface.) can be used in research and teaching, and how to use it to access St. John’s Research resources.  Contact one of the relevant LibGuide authors on this Related LibGuide: Downloading e-books and e-research to your e-reader  to set up a convenient day/time for a one-on-one appointment or to request a workshop for your class, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.


TECH TOOLS  FOR YOUR COURSES: ENGAGE, COLLABORATE, AND RESEARCH

If you or a colleague would benefit from attending a workshop, but you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop times, please email the workshop presenter (listed on the "register" page) or email one of the LibGuide authors (on the "related LibGuide")  to set up a convenient day/time for you and/or your classmates, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.

Ted-Ed Lessons
Tuesday,     Feb 4     10:30am – 11:30am    St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online     register
This workshop will show how to use Ted-Ed to build a lesson around a video and add discussions, questions, and resources.  We will also explore Ted-Ed's library of lessons created by others. Related LibGuide: TedEd Platform

Google Tools  For Collaboration & Research
Wednesday,     Feb 5,     11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online     register

Google offers a number of tools that promote collaboration and ease of web-publishing. during this workshop you will learn more about Google Search & Scholar, Google Docs/Drive, Google Forms, GoogleMaps/geodata and more....Related LibGuide: Google Tools for Collaboration

Social Media: Making the most of "Social Research"  while Maintaining Privacy and a Professional Profile   
Friday,     February 21,     11:00am to 12:00pm ONLINE ONLY     register
Social Media Platforms offer new  venues for "serendipitous" searching, and finding those resources and researchers who share your interests.  In this session you will learn more about  Academia.edu, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Flickr and more... --- Related LibGuide:  Social Media: Privacy, Professional and Research Professionalism

Getting Your Inbox to Zero
Tuesday,     February  25,     11:00am  to 12:00pm    St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online     register
Overwhelmed by the number of messages in your inbox? This workshop will help you make the most of your Outlook account: Email organization, calendar, etc. 

Blackboard Course Design
Thursday,      May 1,     1:00 to 2:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online register
Course Content: Organization, Customization, and Delivery: Learn how to plan course structure to align course content with your audience, organize your course through the use of folders and Learning Modules, and enable individualized instruction with Adaptive Release. 

Using E-reserves  request a workshop or 1:1 appointment
This workshop is geared toward faculty who would like to provide access to our database articles or proprietary information for a course or seminar, renewable over many semesters. E-reserves can be self-managed or can be set-up and maintained by our e-reserves teams, and integrates well with the Libraries' LibGuides to provide a wealth of course-specific research information in one-stop-shopping. Related LibGuide: Reserves Made Simple  

Using CampusGuides request a workshop or 1:1 appointment
This workshop is geared towards faculty who would like to use CampusGuides as a platform to share assignments, research tools, e-reserve readings and multimedia resources in one platform (use alone or in conjunction with Bb9, Digication, St. John's Central). -- Related LibGuide: Campus Guides Toolkit

Mobile Apps for Education request a workshop or 1:1 appointment
We use smart phones and tablets daily in our personal lives to communicate with others, organize our lives, get information, and entertain ourselves.  This workshop will show faculty how they can use these devices in their professional lives with students to engage them, provide them with information, and take learning outside of the classroom.  During this session we will explore different apps that faculty can use in their courses.  If you have a device you may want to bring it and try out these apps.  If you do not have a device this is  a good opportunity to explore different devices and see the possibilities they have for teaching. -- Related LibGuide: Mobile Apps for Education

Mobile Research request a workshop or 1:1 appointment
These workshops cover downloading research articles and e-books to your Mobile Readers/Devices, including iPads, Kindles, Nooks, Google Nexus, Galaxy Tablet, and MS surface. ---Related LibGuide: Downloading e-books and e-research to your e-reader;  


ELECTRONIC PORTFOLIOS & DIGICATION

If you or a colleague would benefit from attending a workshop, but you are unable to make any of the scheduled workshop times, please email the workshop presenter (listed on the "register" page) or email one of the LibGuide authors (on the "related LibGuide")  to set up a convenient day/time for you and/or your classmates, club, thesis support group, organization, etc.

Resume vs. ePortfolio
Monday,       April 7     11:00am – 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online     register
Covers how to illustrate that you have skills that employers are looking for, good organization of content in your ePortfolio, and how to design your ePortfolio to look professional. --  Related LibGuide ePortfolios to Ehance Career Opportunities

Digication as en ePortfolio Tool
Friday, April 11,     11:00am  to 12:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online     register
Digication is an electronic portfolio tool that enables users to easily showcase their work by providing them with a space online to display projects and write about experiences.  This workshop will show how to add content to and edit an ePortfolio. – St. John's Digication Support Site: Digication Support at St. John's

Digication as a Course Management & Assessment Tool request a workshop or 1:1 appointment
Digication is an electronic portfolio tool that enables users to easily showcase their work by providing them with a space online to display projects and write about experiences.  The course tool in Digication works by itself or with the portfolio tool to enable professors to create and run courses that are focused on assessment.  Some features of the course tool include: discussion boards, an announcements function, a gradebook, an assignments section that includes a rubric generator, and the ability to link student portfolios to the course and grade parts of a student’s portfolio.  This workshop will show faculty how to use the features and functions of the Digication Course Tool. ---  Related LibGuide: Using ePortfolios to incorporate Learning Objectives and Rubrics 


PRESENTATIONS:  Software and Platforms

VoiceThread: Create Online Presentations and Discussions
Thursday,     February     13,     10:00am  to 11:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online      register
VoiceThread is an online tool for creating multimedia slide presentations and group discussions – Related LibGuide: VoiceThread Presentations and Discussions 

Prezi: Create Engaging Presentations:
Thursday,     February  27,     11:00am  to 12:00pm     ONLINE ONLY      register
Prezi lets you present your “slides” in  a visually interesting way:  showing linear, hierarchical, or parallel connections.  --  Related LibGuide:  Using Prezi

Glogster: Create Engaging Presentations & Collages:
Wednesday, March  19, 11:00am  to 12:00pm  - St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online register
Glogster lets you create a multimedia collage that includes, text, images, audio, video, and links. --  Related LibGuide: Creating Engaging Presentations with Glogster

Using Polling Software to promote participation in Courses and Presentations:
Covers planning for poll questions boost interaction in a presentation; Poll everywhere, Clickers, Socrative --  Related LibGuide: Using Polling Software to Promote Engagement


PRESENTATIONS:  Visual Content

Digital Images (MAC and PC):
Wednesday,     March  26,     3:30 to 4:30pm   -St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online     register
Covers legally capturing images and ethically incorporating them into a paper, PPT, Webpage or blog. (includes how to capture a screenshot and annotate for a presentation (MAC/PC)  -- Related Libguide: Using Digital photos & Images

InfoGraphics
Wednesday,      April 2,            11:00am  to 12:00pm    - St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online      register
Visual Display of Words/charts/statistics. Covers using Wordle, infogr.am, and Excel Spreadsheet to create charts/graphs, etc. -- Related LibGuide: InfoGraphics & Charts

GoogleMaps: Visual Display of Geodata
Thursday,      April 24,     11:00am  to 12:00pm     -Online ONLY      register
Quickly and easily create private or public maps. Collaborate on a walking tour for your class, lend a geographic component to your analysis, map out data in a visual way (poverty, literacy, nutrition, relief shelters) - Related LibGuide: Using GoogleMaps

Concept Mapping
Monday,     March  31,     3:00 to 4:00pm     St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 & Online register
(Visual display of concepts) Create diagrams to represent ideas or information branching from a central key word or idea and used as an aid in study, organization, problem solving, decision making, and writing --- Related LibGuide: Mind Mapping

PRESENTATIONS: Audio Content

Working with Audio Files

Wednesday,     April 23,     3:30 to 4:30pm     -ONLINE ONLY     register

Audio content can help make a voice-connection with online presentation participants, it can also allow an "outside expert" to enrich any presentation. This overview workshop will identify and demonstrate tools that can help anyone create audio files that range from "on-the-fly interviewing" (e.g.: using Photobabble, Voki, etc.) to "polished recordings" that incorporate creative-commons music, chapters and citations (using Audacity) and offer some hosting tips. -- Related LibGuide: Working with Audio Files


PRESENTATIONS:  Screencasting and A/V movie content

Movie Maker: Create and Edit Movies (PC)
Tuesday,     March  11,     11:00am  to 12:00pm     - St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 307 ONLY     register
Learn how to make and edit short films using your computer, an Internet connection, and free software.  Topics will include importing image and video files, adding sound effects, music, and voiceovers, and adding visual effects. (Note: Movie Maker works on PCs) -- Related Libguide: Movie Editing Tips, Tricks, and Resources

 
iMovie: Create and Edit Movies (MAC)
Thursday,     March  13,     11:00am  to 12:00pm     -  St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 ONLY      register
Learn how to make and edit short films using your Mac, an Internet connection, and free software. Topics will include importing image and video files, adding sound effects, music, and voiceovers, and adding visual effects. (Note: iMovie works on MACs) --  Related Libguide: Movie Editing Tips, Tricks, and Resources


Screencasting Tools: Create Tutorials (MAC and PC)
Monday,     March  17,     11:00am  to 12:00pm     - St. Augustine Hall Lib (Q) 110 ONLY      register
Trying to describe how to navigate a site or program to a friend or colleague can be challenging, but showing them how to do something on their computer is much clearer.  Screencasting lets you create a "video" of your computer screen, so that you can coach someone through whatever computer-based steps they need to get the project done! -- Related LibGuide: Screencasting: Definition, Uses, Examples, and Instructions 

Video Hosting & Syndication (MAC and PC)
YouTube and Vimeo are free websites that allow users to view, organize, host, and share videos for free. YouTube users can subscribe to their favorite channels and Vimeo users follow other members. -- Related LibGuide:  Video Syndication



For quality research content, and for more information on citing research for your digital creations, See the LIBRARY RESEARCH WORKSHOPS:   
http://stjohns.campusguides.com/QLWorkshops

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip