This is the "Philosophy Databases" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy   Tags: ethics, metaphysics, philosophy, social_justice  

A good starting point for finding resources in Philosophy
Last Updated: Feb 16, 2012 URL: http://stjohns.campusguides.com/Philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Philosophy Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Suggest a resource for this page

 

Off-Campus Access

All of our Libraries' subscription resources are available to you from off-campus.  If you click on one of these links and you are asked for a username and password, enter the same username and password you use to access St. John's Central.

If you are denied access to a publication from off-campus, try accessing the link again, but add the libraries' proxy-prefix (http://jerome.stjohns.edu:81/login?url=) at the very start of the URL in the address box. (NB: Do not leave any space between the proxy-prefis and the Resource URL)

Philosophy Databases

  • Aristotle Bibliography  
      
      
    Rating
    Comprehensive index of Aristototelian scholarship worldwide, including journals, books, and dissertations, dating back to 1900. "Presented and maintained by Dr. Richard Ingardia of St. John's University."
  • JSTOR
    Full text of journal articles related to philosophy, among other subjects. JSTOR is one of the initial full-text databases; while most articles are at least 2 years old, JSTOR provides exclusive digital access to many "back-files of scholarly Journals"
  • Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
    "Informative, author-written abstracts covering ... journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews" in 550 journals, from 40 countries. Indexes publications from 1940 - present; updated quarterly.
  • Project MUSE
    Contains full text philosophy journals, among other subjects (primarily "humanities and social sciences journals")
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
    Citations and abstracts for doctoral dissertations and master’s theses, dating as far back as 1861. Full text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses published since 1997.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    Indexes over 4900 journals covering a "broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests."
  • NOTE: EBSCOhost and ProQuest Direct
    You may also wish to search in EBSCOhost and ProQuest Direct for full text articles that cover multi-disciplinary viewpoints. For example, search these databses for articles covering the psychology of epistemology or religious aspects of ethics.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathryn Shaughnessy
Logo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
St. Augustine Library
Queens Campus
718-990-1454
Skype: kgshaughnessy
Office Hours: Library 312C
Weekdays by appointment
Evenings W: 5-7pm; Th 4-6pm
Send Email
 

Philosophy LibGuides credits

Resources for this LibGuides were compiled by Kathryn Shaughnessy & Mark Meng, with input from the Philosophy Department Faculty.  Thanks especially to Dr. Rasmussen for his help in co-ordinating this effort.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip