Off-Campus Access
All of our subscription-based resources are available to you from off-campus. If you click on one of these links and you are asked for a username and password, enter the same username and password you use to access St. John's Central.
Locating Sources
Text and Animated tutorials to help you track down resources in Philosophy
Multidisciplinary Research
Exploring the "literature" for a multidisciplinary topic may require that you start by investigating new terminology. Keep in mind that different disciplines may use different words to describe the same phenomena, or a word may mean something very specific within a discipline, in contrast to how it is used in everyday language. To become familiar with word usage in a discipline, look it up in in a "subject reference source "first (Subject Encyclopedia or Subject Dictionary) to untangle terminology, and use the "suggested subject" links within the databases to find related materials/ headings.
Some tips for exploratory research on a multidisciplinary topic in the databases: When doing cross-disciplinary research 1) be ready to use both multidisciplinary databases (wide but shallow) and supplement that search in additional subject-specific databases (gives more depth) 2) be ready with synonyms for a given word when in executing a search in another "discipline" 3) if you are looking for an overview or for specific comparative elements look for articles that have some of the following "keywords" in the title, e.g.: "overview," "review," "case study," "policy," "survey of the literature." Alternatively, if looking for a specific moral appraisal, try "ethics," "professional guidelines" "professional code" "comparative analysis," "social justice" 4) look at the bibliography/references section of an article if you see a reference that looks helpful. 5) look for indicators of articles or thinkers who are "important" on that topic, preferably in more than one discipline. (e.g.: perhaps the article, work or author have been cited extensively; this information can be found in Citation indexes--if available--and Google scholar).
What to use, and when: Databases and catalogs are good for finding the breadth and depth of the information, articles and books that available to you when you are armed with a topic; GoogleScholar (federated searching with "Check for Full" text engaged) and WorldCat are good for finding where in the world something is, when you are armed with a citation.
Different disciplines use different citation styles. By importing references into RefWorks, you can automatically generate an MLA bibliography more easily for works from various disciplines -- you can then switch them all over to APA or a specific Journal style by choosing a different "output style". In addition RefWorks can help you 1) organize your research and 2) add comments in the abstract field to create annotated bibliographies.
If you get stuck or would like more help, contact any of our subject or reference library faculty, we are ready to help, in person, by phone, email or SMS service!
Helpful Links for the Multidisciplinary Research process
- Library CatalogUse the catalog to search for (1. ) Books – Print and e-books (2.) Holdings for Print Journals (3) Access to e-journals if searching by Title of Journal. NOTE: You may need to contact someone at the 3rd floor Services Desk to locate print materials not on the shelf. (could be in storage)
- Databases A-ZUse Databases to search for periodical/Journal articles – both Print and Electronic (abstracts and full-text access). Use this link if you know the name of the database you wish to use.
- Browse Resources by SubjectBreaks down Library resources by discipline. To examine viewpoints from different disciplines, be sure to explore other "subject pages," utilizing e-reference, e-journals, subject specific databases and professional websites.
- Subject Specialist LibrariansSubject Librarians will serve as your greatest HUMAN resource…contact them via (1) AskUs! Service (2) by emailing them from the link on their subject page or (3) phone for an appointment
- GoogleScholarGood for some cross-disciplinary searches, for a “citation trail,” and for double-checking comprehensive literature reviews. If PDF is not available, be sure to enable the "check for full text" feature in "Scholar Preferences" in order to check for access through our databases.
- Reserves (print and electronic)Visit your library circulation in person for books on reserve; articles and e-books are accessible by e-reserve. Tutorials on using e-reserve on this page.
- Full Text eJournalsHelps if you are doing a known-item search – search by keyword or by alphabetical and subject listing -- be sure to check whether we have in print as well…if not please feel free to use ILL (below)
- Interlibrary LoanIf we don’t have an article you need, our ILL team will work with our Library partners (in state, US and around world) to get it for you if possible. Keep in mind this may require extra time!
Subject Guide |
Contact Info St. Augustine Library Queens Campus 718-990-1454 Skype: kgshaughnessy Office Hours: Library 312C Weekdays by appointment Evenings W: 5-7pm; Th 4-6pm Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Philosophy, Social_Justice, Catholic_Social_Teaching, GDSJ, ICT_literacy, Social_Web, Podcasts, RSS |
Multidisciplinary Databases
The four main Databases below allow you to execute a broad search over many types of resources: (Schoalrly Journals, newpapers, trade and industry publications). EBSCO and ProQuest broadly cover humanities and social sciences; LexisNexis concentrates on Law and News; Science Direct covers business, as well as science articles.






Loading...
