Course Materials
Relevant Library Resources
Library Journal Databases (where you can access online academic journals such as JSTOR, EBSCOhost, ProQuest Direct. For Print media sources, see LexisNexis. All require login through SJU Library Databases.
Library E-Reserves (http://stjohns.campusguides.com/er.php). Select the course or its professor. The password will be provided in class.
St. John's University School of Law - Rittenberg Law Library
LegalTrac (Gale) provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals; it offers law students, faculty and legal researchers the publications they need for their research and practicum. This requires login through SJU Library Databases, listed under L.
LexisNexis Academic includes a search engine for U.S. federal and state cases. This requires login through SJU Library Databases, listed under L.
HeinOnline Legal Research Database is a powerful legal database search engine. This requires login through SJU Library Databases, listed under H.
The University of Texas at Austin Libraries have some of the largest academic collections. Many of the resources are free to anyone, regardless of university affiliation. The Information for Graduate Students page may be helpful as well.
Citation Style Guide (St. John's University Library) site gives students a review of how and why to cite the sources that they use in their scholarship. It is a good supplement to the RefWorks tool that was demonstrated in Rome.
Quick Links for Research Help
- AskUs - Via E-Mail, Chat or TextEmail, Chat and TXT Reference Service: TXT your question to (917) 652-6936
- 1:1 appointment with a Reference Librarian
- Consult a Subject Specialist Librarianfor help with your research paper, thesis, dissertation or professional research.
- Library Workshops - Queens CampusPlease register to ensure a spot!
- Library Workshops - Staten Island
- Request a Library Workshopfor your club, thesis support group, class, fraternity, team, advisement cohort or department.
Quick Contact Info
Queens Library
Main Phone: 718-990-6201
Circulation: 718-990-6850
Reference: 718-990-6727
Reserves: 718-990-6069
Staten Island Library
Main Phone: 718-390-4457
Reference: 718-390-4460
Reserves: 718-390-4359
Manhattan Library
Main Phone: 212-277-5135
Reserves: 212-227-5136
| Ask us! > |
| Comments & Suggestions > |
| Recommend an Item > |
| Deselection Form > |
| Evaluation Form > |
Course Description
This course introduces students to the basic concepts, rules and problems of international law with a special focus on international transactions in both public and private spheres. It complements the other two courses of the curriculum, GOV 344 International Law of War and GV 341 International Law of Peace.
The Law of International Transactions covers a wide range of international interactions and issues. It includes not only state-to-state legal relations and state interactions with international organizations, but also laws regulating the international dimension of the private actors. The course starts with an overview of the history, evolution, sources and schools of international law; it then briefly discusses the subjects and objects (states, international organizations, individuals) of International legal transactions, along with legal responsibility and jurisdiction. In a second part, the course examines competition law in international economic transactions, the adjudicating of international economic disputes, the laws regulating iinternational investment, and the law of economic sanctions. In this context, the course will also address a variety of inbound and outbound international business transactions, commercial contracts, arbitration, mergers and acquisitions, intellectual property protection, and tax issues. Much of this exploration will be done through the work of scholars, court cases, treaties and customs.
By the end of the semester, students are expected to have acquired a basic knowledge on international law and its impact on transactions between state and non-state actors. They should also be able to develop oral and written legal argumentation using the theoretical and empirical elements covered by the course and uncovered by their own research.
Research Help
Our librarians are ready to assist our University Community with research 7 days a week. If you are on campus during library hours, stop by the reference desk. If you are not on campus, you can call us (see contact info at right). Need help on the road or during off-hours? Use our AskUs Service to submit a question by email or text (917-652-6936) and we’ll deliver an answer in same format.
In addition to services at the Reference Desk, you can also set up a one-on-one consultation with a reference librarian who will advise you on effective research strategies. Each of the subject specialist librarians -- in addition to an MLS or MLIS -- have subject masters and/or PhD in different disciplines. Consult a subject librarian for help in locating resources for your research paper, thesis, dissertation or professional research.
For group classes, stop by one of our common hour workshops, or work with a librarian to create a workshop for your club, thesis support group, class, fraternity, team, or department.


Loading...
