Materials and Processes
First try one of the Reference Resources to look up information about the extraction or production process; some terms might include, mining, extraction, tanning, refineries,
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull text environmental sources include the Environmental Encyclopedia, Grzimekās Animal Life Encyclopedia, and more.
- Encyclopedia of EarthBrowse encyclopedia by environmental topic; also provides access to e-books and open-access "Environmental Classics"
- CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveOffers reports on timely topics, written by experts in the field. Helps for finding a topic, or offering research for a topic you have already chosen. Note especially the parts of each report entitled Pro/Con and Chronology.
- Google Advanced News Archive Searchclick "show full timeline" on the bottom of the search page
Related Lib Guides
- Business and Economics LibGuideFor research behind the economic theories behind trade
- Country StudiesTo gain a picture of what life is like in the countries where material or products originate
- CSJ Social Justice LibGuidefor overview of Social Justice principles, in case you want to enter your research paper for the SJ essay contest
- Environmental StudiesUse the databases, like GreenFile and ToxNet to find scholarly research about the environmental impact of extraction, production, distribution and consumption of items
- Media LiteracyFor information about Fact-Checking
- Psychology LibguideFor research behind motivations behind consumption
- SciInq: Environmental and Medicinal ApproachFor help finding out about the chemicals/toxins in a household product
Story of Stuff twitter feed
Gale - narrow down by options on side
In Gale, search for a process or industry -- like mining or apparel -- then use the side subject bars to narrow down (e.g.: industry overview); if you know the name of the company that produced your item or distributes it, you might look that up too.
EoE
IN EoE, try the main name of one of the components of the product; if the top few entries don't look promising, note the articles about "the health effects of" -- these are chemicals or compounds that are involved growing, extraction, production, or disposal of the item

CQ Researcher
CQ researcher can offer some overviews of topis/products/issues which have been brought before congress for regulation. Use the search boxes, or browse by topic




Loading...
Loading...
